Flood Relief Schemes Project Website 

In May 2018, the Minister of State for the Office of Public Works at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform launched 29 Flood Risk Management Plans for Ireland.  The Plans identified an initial total of 118 flood relief projects to protect the main flood risk areas throughout the country.  This number increased to 119 with the addition of the Burnfoot project following a cost review after the 2017 floods. 

These Plans and projects are a key part of the overall flood risk management strategy set out in the National Development Plan 2017 – 2028, involving total investment of almost €1 billion over the ten year time frame. As it is not possible to implement all of the 119 projects at the one time, a total of 57 projects were prioritised for the initial tranche of investment.

Further information on the Flood Risk Management Plans is available on the national website:

In January 2019, Donegal County Council (DCC) and the Office of Public Works (OPW) established the Donegal Flood Relief Schemes Steering Group to oversee the implementation of the flood relief schemes that are released for Donegal arising from the Flood Risk Management Plan.  The Steering Group consists of officials from both DCC and OPW.

The Steering Group have responsibility to oversee the initial tranche of six flood relief schemes that were released in January 2019.  These are Burnfoot, Castlefinn, Glenties, Na Dúnaibh and Kerrykeel (managed by Donegal County Council) and Lifford (managed by the OPW).

A further three flood relief schemes were released in November 2019 and are overseen by the Steering Group.  These are Ballybofey -Stranorlar, Buncrana-Luddan and Ramelton which are also managed by Donegal County Council. A flood relief scheme for Raphoe is being progressed by OPW and was commenced prior to the publication of Flood Risk Management Plans.

The locations at which schemes are currently being progressed in County Donegal are shown below with individual scheme information accessed by clicking on the relevant link. 

As further flood relief scheme project websites are launched, they will be accessible here.

This website is a central resource for the public, providing information and updates on each Flood Relief Scheme in County Donegal.